Board of Directors

Tim Swain, Chairman

Sr. IT Software Engineer, Banner Health

Tim is a board member of the Eaton RE2 School District, located in Eaton Colorado. Appointed to the board in 2001 Tim has served as a Director, Treasurer, and presently as the Vice President of the Eaton board. Tim began serving as the Eaton representative on the Centennial Board of Cooperative Services in 2003. Tim has served as a Director, Treasurer, Vice President, and presently is President of the CBOCES Board.

Tim is employed as a Sr. Systems Engineer at Banner Health, a nonprofit healthcare organization with 22 hospitals and associated clinics throughout 7 western states. Tim has been married to his wife, Charlene, for 32 years and they have three sons and one grandson.

Dr. Jo Barbie

Superintendent, Weld County School District RE-1

Dr. Jo Barbie is Superintendent of Schools for Weld County School District RE-1 in Gilcrest, LaSalle and Platteville.  Weld RE-1 educates approximately 2000 students every year and employs nearly 300 employees.  Jo has served as superintendent since 2000.  Prior to the superintendency, she was an assistant superintendent, elementary principal and a teacher.  She has been in education for 27 years.  Jo possesses a Doctorate from the University of Denver and Masters and Bachelor degrees from the Montana State University system.  Presently she is a director on the board for Weld County Youth and Family Connections.  She is active with the South Central Weld Chamber of Commerce and in the past she served as chairperson for the Northern Colorado Superintendents Council, president of the Colorado Association of Elementary School Principals and director on the board for the Colorado Association of Superintendents and Senior Administrators.

Gene Hainer

Executive Director, Colorado State Library

Eugene (Gene) Hainer was appointed in May 2005 by the Commissioner of Education to head the Colorado State Library. He graduated from CU Boulder in 1980 with music education degree, and obtained the MLIS from the University of Texas at Austin in 1989.

His background includes several years as a teacher and band director in central Texas, followed by five years as a media specialist in the Poudre school district, prior to accepting a position with the State Library in 1995 as the School Libraries Senior Consultant. He served for five years as Director of Library Development prior to appointment to the current position.

Gene was born in Denver and grew up in Colorado, graduating from Fort Morgan High School in 1976. His three children, Cory, Eric, and Meghan live and work in Fort Collins. Parents Galen and Kaye live in Lamar and help with numerous community-related events, including the public library board.

Mike Jakel

Director of Technology Services, Platte Valley Schools

Joe McBreen

Chief Information Officer, St. Vrain Valley Schools

Ken Olson

Director of Technology, Telluride School District

Tim Sanger

Executive Director, Northeast Colorado BOCES

Tim Sanger serves as Executive Director for Northeast Colorado Board of Cooperative Educational Services (NE BOCES). NE BOCES consists of 12 small rural school districts, a community college, and a junior college. It covers an area of 8,500 square miles. NE BOCES also provides several programs, including distance learning and special education tele-practice services via video conferencing. Tim is in his 13th year as director.

He presently serves as a Board of Director for the Colorado BOCES Association (CBA). The CBA has 19 member BOCES that provides a wide range of services for the majority of school districts across Colorado. He has also served on several statewide committees on behalf of students and their families all across Colorado. Time has been concerned with the region’s inability to maximize resources, leverage existing infrastructure and provide economies of scale internet for small and rural areas to meet the 21st Century needs of school districts and communities. EAGLE‑Net is an opportunity to meet rural needs and he appreciates the opportunity to serve as an EAGLE‑Net board member.